Who voted AGAINST Covid Plan B? Find out if your MP is on the list

NHS nurse erupts at Tories threatening Covid rules rebellion

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

MPs voting against the Government’s proposals did so for a variety of reasons, but they centred around complaints the rules could infringe on people’s liberties. Many of Parliament’s self-proclaimed libertarians exist in the Conservative benches. The House of Commons has revealed they make up the bulk of today’s rebels, but some Labour members also defied the party whip.

What are MPs voting on tonight?

MPs are voting on several new Covid restrictions tonight, with vaccine “passports” headlining.

The Government has proposed people provide documents proving their vaccination status or a negative test on entry to some locations.

These would fall under a Covid pass scheme scheduled to debut tomorrow.

Other proposed regulations include:

  • A mandate requiring people to wear a face-covering in most indoor settings, excluding hospitality venues
  • Changes to self-isolation rules, with vaccinated people required to test themselves for a week after a contact tests positive
  • A vaccine mandate for NHS frontline and social care staff from April 2022

The first vote, on the Covid mask extension, passed by 400 ayes to 41 noes, meaning there were 41 rebels. 

The big ticket item of the night, vaccine passports, passed by 369 ayes to 126 noes. 

The final vote on whether NHS workers should have to follow compulsory vaccinations also passed with 385 ayes to 100 noes. 

The Conservative MPs who voted against Plan B vaccine passports

Adam Afriyie (Windsor)

Lee Anderson (Ashfield)

Shaun Bailey (West Bromwich West)

Siobhan Baillie (Stroud)

Steve Baker (Wycombe)

Harriett Baldwin (West Worcestershire)

John Baron (Basildon and Billericay)

Scott Benton (Blackpool South)

Bob Blackman (Harrow East)

Peter Bone (Wellingborough)

Ben Bradley (Mansfield)

Karen Bradley (Staffordshire Moorlands)

Graham Brady (Altrincham and Sale West)

Andrew Bridgen (North West Leicestershire)

Steve Brine (Winchester)

Miriam Cates (Penistone and Stocksbridge)

Christopher Chope (Christchurch)

Brendan Clarke-Smith (Bassetlaw)

Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (The Cotswolds)

Tracey Crouch (Chatham and Aylesford)

Philip Davies (Shipley)

David Davis (Haltemprice and Howden)

Dehenna Davison (Bishop Auckland)

Jonathan Djanogly (Huntingdon)

Richard Drax (South Dorset)

Iain Duncan Smith (Chingford and Woodford Green)

Tobias Ellwood (Bournemouth East)

Luke Evans (Bosworth)

Liam Fox (North Somerset)

Louie French (Old Bexley and Sidcup)

Richard Fuller (North East Bedfordshire)

Marcus Fysh (Yeovil)

Nusrat Ghani (Wealden)

Jo Gideon (Stoke-on-Trent Central)

Chris Grayling (Epsom and Ewell)

Chris Green (Bolton West)

Damian Green (Ashford)

James Grundy (Leigh)

Robert Halfon (Harlow)

Stephen Hammond (Wimbledon)

Mark Harper (Forest of Dean)

John Hayes (South Holland and The Deepings)

Adam Holloway (Gravesham)

Tom Hunt (Ipswich)

Mark Jenkinson (Workington)

David Jones (Clwyd West)

Simon Jupp (East Devon)

Alicia Kearns (Rutland and Melton)

Julian Knight (Solihull)

Greg Knight (East Yorkshire)

Robert Largan (High Peak)

Andrea Leadsom (South Northamptonshire)

Edward Leigh (Gainsborough)

Andrew Lewer (Northampton South)

Julian Lewis (New Forest East)

Chris Loder (West Dorset)

Mark Logan (Bolton North East)

Jonathan Lord (Woking)

Tim Loughton (East Worthing and Shoreham)

Craig Mackinlay (South Thanet)

Anthony Mangnall (Totnes)

Karl McCartney (Lincoln)

Stephen McPartland (Stevenage)

Esther McVey (Tatton)

Stephen Metcalfe (South Basildon and East Thurrock)

Damien Moore (Southport)

Robbie Moore (Keighley)

Anne Marie Morris (Newton Abbot)

Holly Mumby-Croft (Scunthorpe)

Robert Neill (Bromley and Chislehurst)

Matthew Offord (Hendon)

Mark Pawsey ( Rugby)

Mike Penning (Hemel Hempstead)

John Penrose (Weston-super-Mare)

Andrew Percy (Brigg and Goole)

Tom Randall (Gedling)

John Redwood (Wokingham)

Laurence Robertson (Tewkesbury)

Andrew Rosindell (Romford)

Gary Sambrook (Birmingham, Northfield)

Greg Smith (Buckingham)

Henry Smith (Crawley)

Ben Spencer (Runnymede and Weybridge)

Jane Stevenson (Wolverhampton North East)

John Stevenson (Carlisle)

Julian Sturdy (York Outer)

Robert Syms (Poole)

Derek Thomas (St Ives)

Craig Tracey (North Warwickshire)

Tom Tugendhat (Tonbridge and Malling)

Theresa Villiers (Chipping Barnet)

Christian Wakeford (Bury South)

Charles Walker (Broxbourne)

David Warburton (Somerton and Frome)

Giles Watling (Clacton)

Sammy Wilson (East Antrim)

William Wragg (Hazel Grove)

Rob Roberts (Independent)


The Labour MPs who voted against Plan B vaccine passports

Diane Abbott (Hackney North and Stoke Newington)

Apsana Begum (Poplar and Limehouse)

Dawn Butler (Brent Central)

Jeremy Corbyn (Independent – Islington North)

Clive Lewis (Norwich South)

Emma Lewell-Buck (South Shields)

Rebecca Long Bailey (Salford and Eccles)

Bell Ribeiro-Addy (Streatham)

Graham Stringer (Blackley and Broughton)

The Liberal Democrat MPs who voted against Plan B vaccine passports

Alistair Carmichael (Orkney and Shetland)

Wendy Chamberlain (North East Fife)

Daisy Cooper (St Albans)

Tim Farron (Westmorland and Lonsdale)

Sarah Green (Chesham and Amersham)

Wera Hobhouse (Bath)

Christine Jardine (Edinburgh West)

Sarah Olney (Richmond Park)

Munira Wilson (Twickenham)

Layla Moran (Oxford West and Abingdon)

Other MPs who voted against the passports included: 

Caroline Lucas (Green Party – Brighton, Pavilion)

Jeffrey M Donaldson (Democratic Unionist Party – Lagan Valley)

Paul Girvan (Democratic Unionist Party – South Antrim)

Carla Lockhart (Democratic Unionist Party – Upper Bann)

Ian Paisley (Democratic Unionist Party – North Antrim)

Jim Shannon (Democratic Unionist Party – Strangford)

Source: Read Full Article